User Modes

Various modes can be set on users. Some of them can be set by the users, others are set by the network. You can list your current user modes with the /mode yourname command.

For those that can be set by users, /mode yourname +mode will work.

Keep in mind that all user modes are per session, so you have to set them again every time you connect. Note that most clients can automate this for you.

Available user modes

Mode (name) Description
c Blocks private messages from users who do not share a common channel with you and will not notify you that someone is attempting to message you.
d
(deaf)
Makes you not recieve any messages or notices.
g
(caller-id)
Ignores private messages from unknown users, instead informing you someone is attempting to message you. You can choose to receive messages with the /accept command. Messaging a user automatically accepts them. Messages from unidentified users will still be blocked by +R.
i
(invisible)
Hides you from global WHO by normal users.
x
(host cloaking)
Replaces your hostname with a hashed version, hiding it from others.
z
(secure messages only)
Only allow private messages from users connecting via TLS.
B
(bot mode)
Marks you as a bot.
D
(privdeaf)
Prevents you from receiving private messages.
I
(hidden whois)
Hides your WHOIS channel list from non-staff.
L
(disable forwarding)
Prevents channel forwards from affecting you. If a channel's modes prevent you from joining, you will receive the relevant error message regardless of any forwards.
R
(block unidentified)
Ignores private messages from users who are not identified with services.
S
(strip color)
Strips color/formatting codes out of private messages.
w
(see wallops)
Subscribes you to /wallops messages from freenode staff. Used infrequently to highlight interesting announcements from the FOSS community. You will receive important network announcements irrespective of this setting.
Z
(connected securely)
Set automatically by the network when you connect via SSL/TLS.

By default, user mode +Z (connected securely using TLS) is set only if you are using a secure connection, and it cannot be unset during the session. User mode +i (invisible) is also set by default, and can be unset. Other user modes can be set, but are disabled by default.